Writers, Don’t Be Like The Lady at the Gas Station

Avoid These 3 Bad Conversation Practices In Your Writing

Jewel Eliese
4 min readMar 23, 2021
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Maybe you’re a bit like me.

And are someone who naturally likes to talk a lot.

If so, then you know how fun it is to feel the story you’re telling come to life. To see the other person’s face light up with laughter or sadness at your words.

Your love of speaking may also play a part in your love of writing.

But, if you’re a good communicator then you also love the other side of talking. Listening.

And this lady at the gas station the other day had no concept that a conversation goes both ways.

What Writers Can Learn From Bad Conversation

I went into the gas station for a Redbull, which is not something I normally do as I’m trying to be healthy lately but I was feeling a bit run down and needed a serious pick-me-up.

As such, I wasn’t in the best mood for a long conversation.

But, the lady at the counter was.

I asked the normal American greeting — ‘How are you?’. I did mean it as I truly want to know people are, but I wasn’t expecting a long answer.

--

--

Jewel Eliese

Published on Scary Mommy, & Thought Catalog. 3x Amazon bestselling author. Writer Mom. A bit sassy. Loves words + baby kisses. Reach me at jeweleliese@gmail.com